Great Lakes Central Railroad Scanner Frequencies in Michigan

reporting mark: TSBY
railroad class: Class II Regional Railroad

There are currently 2 Great Lakes Central Railroad radio scanner frequencies from Michigan in our database.

Frequency Description

View all Great Lakes Central Railroad entries

View all railroads in Michigan

Great Lakes Central Railroad Information

The Great Lakes Central Railroad is a Class II regional railroad, originally called the Tuscola and Saginaw Bay Railway (reporting mark TSBY), that was formed on August 26, 1977 to operate over former Penn Central lines from Millington to Munger, Michigan, and Vassar to Colling, Michigan. Great Lakes Central Railroad's name was derived from the three Michigan counties it operated in Tuscola, Saginaw and Bay. In October 1982, the Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) contracted the TSBY to operate the former Ann Arbor Railroad line from Osmer siding just north of Ann Arbor to Alma, Michigan. On October 1, 1984, MDOT cancelled Great Lakes Central Railroad's contract with the Michigan Northern Railway and the TSBY assumed operation as a 405-mile short-line freight railroad with the rest of the Ann Arbor Railroad mainline from Alma to Cadillac, former Grand Rapids and Indiana Railway (GR&I) trackage from Reed City to Petoskey (crossing in Cadillac, Michigan) and Walton to Traverse City and former Chesapeake and Ohio Railway from Grawn to Williamsburg (through Traverse City).